Eight nations remain in medal contention at WBSC Jr Women’s Softball World Championship as playoffs begin

July 28, 2017

CLEARWATER, FL, USA — The preliminary stage at the 2017 WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship has concluded, leaving eight teams remaining in the hunt for the Gold Medal.

See Schedule

Following the four-day round robin pool stage in the U-19 women’s international softball flagship event, eight nations (the top two nations from each pool) have advanced into a Double-Page Playoff beginning tomorrow, 27 July, to determine the 2017 Junior Women’s Softball World Champion.

The national teams to survive through into the Playoffs include:

  • No. 1 Japan
  • No. 2 United States
  • No. 3 Canada
  • No. 4 Australia
  • No. 6 China
  • No. 7 Puerto Rico
  • No. 9 Chinese Taipei
  • No. 13 Czech Republic

Nations finishing third and fourth in pool play will be placed in a placement pool and play in a double page system to determine 9th to 16th Place. Nations finishing lower than 4th Place in their respective pools will compete against each other in a single elimination format for 17th to 26th Place.

The 26 participating national teams in the WBSC Junior Women’s Softball World Championship represent a global reach that spans across all regions — Africa, Asia, the Americas, Europe, and Oceania — and will play 100 games in total before a World Champion is crowned.

The gold medal game will take centre stage on 30 July at 16:00, and will be preceded by the bronze medal match at 14:30.


Continued coverage of the 2017 Jr Women’s Softball World Championship is available via